Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Stand Back! We don't know how big it's gonna get

dreadnought Guest

Default Stand Back! We don't know how big it's gonna get

It's time to order a trailer to pull behind the bus, and since that's what I do for a living I know where I'll buy it. Question is, how long can I get away with? My understanding is 65' overall is the limit, but we've all seen much longer rigs on the road. I saw a bus pulling a 30' stacker on the way back from "camp prevost" in Jacksonville on Monday. How many of yall have ever been bothered by the cops or DOT? If so, where? A 16' trailer with a 4' tongue + a 45' bus = 65.' I want a tall trailer, say 12', and I'm afraid a 16' will look goofy 12' tall. 20' would be much mo stylish. On the other hand, it would be a shame to spend a bunch of money on something that can't be used legally...

Joe Cannarozzi Guest

There is already a pretty substantial thread on this subject -California Combined Lenght Limit-, but in short, not all states are 65FT, some are 60
    Last edited by Joe Cannarozzi; 12-06-2006 at 07:13 PM.

Dread,

Go to the Prevost Prouds site and read what they have about lengths. This was under the radar for quite a while, but there appear to be more and more folks talking about getting fined for length violations.

I used to pull my pickup a lot, but it puts me at 68 feet so I am a little more cautious about its use.

Default Legal lenghts listed by state

I think that the January issue of FMC magazine has a state by state listing of the legal length of the coach and combination coach + trailer or toad.

If you don't have a back issue just go to www.fmca.com and go to back issues, select January and it should be in it.

I have never been stopped by highway patrol or DOT. I used to tow a Yukon behind a 45' Newell so I was over the 65' limit, but not by much.