Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: GEICO experiences?

Default GEICO experiences?

I was renewing my motorcycle insurance with GEICO today, and just out of curiosity asked for a quote on my bus. It came back less than half what I am paying Liberty Mutual. I quizzed the guy about how this is possible, and he said they discount heavily based on number of days per year of usage. (I have only about 60 days usage per year.)

My feeling is that you get what you pay for, but the coverages offered seem to be about the same. Does anybody have any claims experience with GEICO coverage on their bus? Thanks.

We have had National Interstate for a long time. It got its test when our coach caught fire while traveling five years ago.

I have zero insurance claims experience with any other company so I have no basis for comparison, but I can tell you I write a renewal check as soon as it is due. I do this for a couple of reasons.

First, when we first shopped insurance out of all the companies that could cover a BUS CONVERSION they were the most competitive. That may have changed.

Second, when we were standing along side of the road, fire out, waiting for a tow truck I called and instantly got a claim number and instructions to do what I felt I had to do. What I felt was the correct decision was to have it towed almost 200 miles to the closest Prevost Service Center. There was no disagreement and all they asked was I retain the receipts for the tow.

Third, an adjuster was assigned the case and he met with Prevost and the instructions were to restore it to the way it was before the fire or better. He went so far as to authorize the entire AC system rebuilt because excessive systems pressures were the root cause of the problem. There was no argument or discussion whatsoever. He just told Prevost to repair it.