Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Headlights - Recommendation on replacements.

sawdust_128 Guest

Default Headlights - Recommendation on replacements.

What is the consensus here? I would like to have a little more light when I am driving at night. It seems the current bulbs (I don't know if they have ever been replaced) just aren't bright for one thing and they don't give me a range of visibility that I am comfortable with because it doesn't feel safe.

Thanks in advance.

Dust Man,

High beams, that's the only answer that I'm aware of...

I have no experience with the current high intensity lights, but I do know the sealed beam 4 lamp system on our 87 coach was spectacular. Low beams were good, but when I kicked on the high beams the visibility was excellent.

But I have no illusions. Night driving is for young eyes and we should be aware that what might be bright enough for night driving may be blinding to oncoming cars.

Agreement here; the high beams are adequate, but the low beams aren't all. I would love to know of brighter replacements for these headlights without modification of the physical lamp style or dimensions or method of alignment, if possible.

You may be able to up-grade to the new Sylvania lamps, but don't overlook how much of an improvement you can get by simply polishing the plastic lens. They get dirty and cloudy over time and can be polished to allow substantially more light to be emitted.

Worth a try....

3-M makes a kit to polish the lenses but any quality plastic polish will do the job.

SAWDUST............ Try the Sylvania Silverstar from your local auto parts store. About $38.00 for both lights. Very bright and white. Much better than old style bulbs.

Quote Originally Posted by Darrell McCarley View Post
    SAWDUST............ Try the Sylvania Silverstar from your local auto parts store. About $38.00 for both lights. Very bright and white. Much better than old style bulbs.