Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Transmission Shift problem

Default Transmission Shift problem

I had some warranty items taken care of at Prevost Ft. Worth this past week and commenced to driving the 185 miles home. Everything was working flawlessly until I slowed down to take the loop around Abilene towards home. At this point the transmission (world) would not shift beyond 4th gear. I limped on home from that point. First thought was transmission fluid. Full.......After sitting for about an hour and cooling down, I jumped back in and drove down the road and it operated perfectly.

Any thoughts as to what may have caused this and what I should do about it?
    Tony and Jenny Conder
    Abilene, Texas
    - - - - - - - - - - -
    2008 Marathon D/S XLII
    2017 RAM 1500 4x4

I'm no transmission expert, but I do know that an Allison dealer can connect your tranmission via the internet to a computer that can give you a report. It has enough detail to even show the amount of wear on the clutches.

Hi Tony. Did you look at the oil to see if there was coolant contamination. If you have a Allison directory, you can also check the codes. Try Allisons website also for trouble shooting tips. http://www.allisontransmission.com/
    Gary & Lise Deinhard, 2003 Elegant Lady Liberty, Dbl slide

Tony: I had that happen to my Royale. It was the shifter keyboard. The brains are under the shifter buttons. Mine got wet and required a rebuild on the unit. I was lucky to find a repair shop and did not have to buy a new one $$$$$. Some times while gearing down you hit the wrong button, like neutral or reverse. It fakes out the computer and it needs a time out to get back on track. Also do not spray water through the window crack onto the shifter keyboard. Now mine gets a towel over it when I'm washing the bus.
    Harry

Shirley & Harry / 2000 Liberty / 2008 GMC Envoy Denali

Tony,