Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is 30 Amp Electric Connection a Problem?

Default Is 30 Amp Electric Connection a Problem?

We plan to go to Yellowstone for several weeks. The place we will be staying only has a 30 amp hookup. Will this setup have any adverse affect on our electric system other than not being able to run everything at one time? I don't think one of the cheater boxes would do me any good, but I've never tried to use one before.
    Dale & Paulette

"God Loves you and has a plan for your life!

Dale,

The cheater adaptor will work very well if you have 2 separate 30 amp connections. It will give you a total of 60 amps for your 50 amp system.

If you can not connect to separate 30 amp connections and you have to run on 30 amps, just watch your amp meters to see how much you are drawing and turn off accessories as needed. You will probably be able to run 1 AC unit off of CG electric; you could always run the other AC off of the inverter.

When we were in Yellowstone (June) it was very cold at night. Don't think you will be needing the AC units, but you never know. Enjoy your trip
    Tuga & Karen Gaidry

2012 Honda Pilot

Dale,

We did the 30 amp at Fishing Bridge in Yellowstone with our coach and the only thing we couldn't do was run the electric cook top or run all the Cruisairs at once. But it was cool at night and we really only ran the heat at night then a vent fan with the windows open during the day. When we had to use the stove I fired up the generator. We mostly cooked outside.

I didn't have or use a cheater box but I have one now.

Jerry,

Would a cheater box have done any good at Fishing Bridge? I obviously don't understand how the box works. I din't think many campground connections had two 30 amp connections that are on different legs so you could end up with 50-60 amps.
    Dale & Paulette