Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bus Barn

dreamchasers Guest

Default Bus Barn

I am starting preliminary design for my bus barn. I thought I would lay out the design for expert advice. I forgot to place a North South indicator on the plan. North is to the left of the drawing.

What am I missing?

Click on the link below to view the .pdf file. The 68 k file could not be uploaded to the POG site, to big??

http://dreamchasers.us/pog/bus barn test.pdf

Any and all comments are welcome. Remember, I am still a newbie.

Hector

Hector,

Since you have the opportunity to start from scratch move the bus to the left or right. Leave ample room to pull and axle, 5' being more than enough.

If you want to go further, add a pit, and other door to drive cars or landscaping equipment in, add a 50/30/20 power outlet from Jamestown Advanced (I can't resist plugging my daughter's company), add water and sewer, and center the peak over the offset bus, with the pitch towards the more open side of the garage (otherwise it looks like a sky scraper).

Plumb it for shop air, get a compressor which has 175 PSI capability and an 80 gallon tank, and in addition to normal size quick connect fittings, add some 1/2" quick connects to run the 1" impact wrench.

Put enough lighting in there so it is lit up like a surgical suite. It still won't be enough for aging eyes but it will be a good start.

Put welder outlets around where the bus will sit so when you break a stud using your impact wrench to remove wheels, you can weld a nut on to spin the broken part off the bus. Yes I know there are tools that work without welding, but I have had several that would not come off and I still ended up welding.