Thread: Paver Thickness For New Driveway

Default Paver Thickness For New Driveway

Hello all, we are finally going to contract a great company to replace about 90’ of old asphalt driveway at our house with decoratively colored concrete pavers. These will be 6” X 6” and 6” X 9” arranged in a random pattern. They will meet the full 8” thick, 5000 psi concrete, occasionally used parking area for our H-3, when situated at the house. Xanthe is normally in the garage 500’ away. The question is: should we go with the thicker 80 mm (3-1/8”) vs the thinner 60 mm (2-1/3”) pavers. The 80’s are a special order that will, no doubt, take longer to get and be more expensive. Just wondering if anyone has any direct experience with this.
    Cheers, Dr. No

My concern with pavers is how they might move and shift around. On a solid surface the weight of a wheel is spread over a large area since the concrete or whatever is held together and usually has wire mesh in the foundation. I have no experience with pavers in this application so it may not be an issue... Hopefully someone knows.

Are you placing a hard load bearing surface under the blocks. If so, the blocks are mainly cosmetic. Otherwise, what will keep the subsurface from shifting?

Gil and Durlene
    2003 H-3 Hoffman Conversion

If u r applying them to an exzisting 8 in of concrete u will have to bed them in some type of quickset to fill in the irregegularities between the 2 or they will crack. If u do bed them down i would guess the thinner ones would do just the same. Pure guess. Experinent somewhere on a corner with a patch of them.