Thread: Bus Shutdown on the 40 120 degrees

Default Bus Shutdown on the 40 120 degrees

Hi folks, I am new to the POG, i have been reading all the posts new and old but this is my first post. I purchased a 1992 Prevost Bus in AZ and it shutdown about an hour from where I picked it up. I had to have it towed and stored for a few day till i can get to it to start troubleshooting. I was traveling up the grade out of needles and the coolant temp got almost to 220. I know that is too high, the Bus needs a complete flush of all fluids which i plan to do once I get it home to Los Angeles. I felt the power drop off, then the tack dropped to zero and i got onto the shoulder. Seems to me if it was a sensor shutdown it should have reset itself once things cooled, but it didn't. I put a jump box on the engine and it turns over fine, just no crank from the Key or switch in the back. I have all dash lights etc, just won't crank. An interesting thing i noticed, is I have no red light on the shifter. Hopefully this is a clue for someone. Any help would be appreciated.

1992 Prevost XL 102, Country Coach

8V92TA Engine

Allison 5 Speed Automatic

Model: HT-755CR,
    Mike Giboney
    1992 Prevost Country Coach

When it shut down was it in gear? If it was u have to manually get it back into neutral .

If so on the pass side of the trans is the shift linkage. 1 click up from all the way down is neutral. Do not get under it without a support stand or 2 or 3 considering u don't know the bus or the ground it sits on.
    1990 Peterbuilt 377
    3406 B Caterpillar
    13 Speed Roadranger
    No Norgrens

1 day on paper no machines

Great suggestion, It might be in gear. I don't think i shifted it to Neutral while I was trying to get over to the shoulder. I am driving out to AZ tonight, i will look at this, Thanks for the help.
    Mike Giboney

Sealy, Texas (50 miles west of Houston on I-10)