PDA

View Full Version : Leaking Powetech Genny Sump Pan

travelite
10-27-2014, 12:47 PM
Folks,

I'm new to air bag suspended generators. I've never played around with the two pressure regulators feeding air to the fore and aft air springs, but someone must have. I arrived at my bus some time ago to find a puddle of oil on the floor under the generator. Seems I've been driving with very little air pressure in the front air bags. In addition, the rubber bump stop mounted to the floor of the enclosure and designed to support the engine sump pan had sheered off. This allowed the oil drain petcock to rest firmly against the enclosure tray. I guess over the miles the force and vibrations were too much for the welded on sump pan threaded bung. The weld attaching the threaded bung to the sump cracked and began leaking! The sump pan has to come off to repair the weld. Odd failure! I now know to pay particular attention to the pressure in those air bags and to make sure the resting rubber bump stops are in place and secured properly:

Vantare didn't mount the genny on a sliding tray. I'd like to disconnect the fore air springs, lift the front of the generator, and crib under the air spring mounts to gain access and clearance to all the sump pan bolts, but I need a very low profile jack. There's only about 3/4ths of an inch between the sump pan and the floor. Here's the low profile jack I found; it's a Mat Jack 1 (http://www.feldfire.com/15-Ton-Matjack-High-Pressure-Air-Lifting-Bag_p_501.html), max air pressure is 120 psi. It can lift 1.5 tons to a height of 2.5 inches. It's deflated height is 3/4":