PDA

View Full Version : New Member Looking for information on 1998 Liberty Classic Lady XL45

cgallant
11-22-2013, 06:46 AM
I am new to Prevost Owners Group and am in the process of looking at a couple coaches as my first Prevost.

Came across a 1998 Prevost Liberty Classic Lady XL 45 and wanted to check to see if anyone on the forums recognized the coach and could possible provide some specifics on it.

The coach is currently located in Texas at a dealer, but the description is a little confusing in terms of power train. It's listed with a S60 470HP and Allison 5 speed. Looking to see if the transmission is correct, or if it's a mistake on the ad and it's really a 6 speed.

Also, if anyone knows this bus personally, please feel free to contact me privately, would love to get some history on it.

I have some questions in with the dealer as well as with Liberty, but any other information would be helpful.

thanks

Charles

Here is a side pic of the coach in question:

http://www.nsr250.net/pics/prevost/1998-Liberty-Classic-Lady.jpg

Joe Camper
11-22-2013, 09:28 AM
The 60 series was coupled with the 5 speed for 1 year and that was the first year that they switched to that engine. That was 95 I think.

dale farley
11-22-2013, 01:19 PM
That bus definitely has a six speed. Its just a mistake in their ad. I noticed this when they first posted the ad, and I verified it is a 6 speed. I have no first-hand knowledge of the bus, but it seems to be a very nice low-mileage bus. Of course, maintenance is the main thing to look for, other than appearance. They will often times deal a little on the price.

I would find out what they know about the maintenance records. How old are the tires and batteries and when and where was it last serviced? Five years are getting close to the end of the life cycle for both tires and batteries if they were properly maintained. They say tires are recent, but I would verify the actual mfg dates.

cgallant
11-22-2013, 07:07 PM
Thanks Dale,