PDA

View Full Version : Bad Day

Joe Cannarozzi
12-11-2006, 08:41 PM
I was delivering a load of stone to a road construction project today(I-294/I-80 slpit). I was slowing down in the construction zone, flashers blazing, far right lane getting ready to turn off into the construction site. A young man, of 30 years in a 01Saturn was not paying attention coming up from the rear. I was loaded and rolling mabye 25 or so. He rear-ended me so hard it knocked me forward like I was in a Saturn that was being hit buy a loaded truck. He didnt make it, died on impact. Currently am riding a bit of an emotional rollercoaster rethinking things and wondering about the family he leaves behind. Latley Ive had a bit of a time trying to convince myself I still enjoy what I do for a living. What the ramifications of todays events will be is yet to be seen. This could be the push I needed to move on.

If you are inclined, pray for him and the family he leaves behind. Thank you.

John Rivera

jello_jeep
12-11-2006, 09:08 PM
Now, that is a bad day indeed.

Keep in mind that his inattention is NOT your fault.. Although I am sure that does not help much.

My theory on praying is, that I don't pray too often, so when I do, I figure its more likely to be dealt with, than those who are always jammin up the airways... So I will throw one out for you, him, and his family.

Sounds like you need a "choir practice" and a de-briefing with Dr J. Daniels, both of which I am familiar with.

Our thoughts and prayers are with you and yours.

Just Plain Jeff
12-11-2006, 09:32 PM
Joe:

I have yet to have to the pleasure of meeting you, but look froward to it.

You've had a tough day, more than anyone should have. In my line of work, I can share with you that some things that occur simply don't make any sense. We do all the right things, follow the procedures, are sure that life will go along as expected, but it doesn't always do that.