PDA

View Full Version : Camping Passes worth the money or waste of time?

Ronald Hiemann
11-28-2011, 04:03 PM
Being a Prevost newbie, I have no idea where we will be travelling. However, having sold our business earlier this year, we intend to become full-timers in January and travel around the country for several months of every year. That, and go sailing... :-)
I just now got junk mail from Thousand Trails. Buy one, get one free. On paper, this offer sounds good (and there are similar offers from others) but, is it really worth spending the money on such passes and or memberships?
Who did and why and how much do you get out of it? All comments will be appreciated!
Cheers,
Ronald

Jamie Bradford
11-28-2011, 05:30 PM
Hi Ron,

One thing you may want to think about is the fact that many of the places that offer these "deals" are places that are not going to be able accommodate your bus. It is good to look at the park's webpage pictures and that will help tell you if they can fit you or not.

merle&louise
11-28-2011, 05:38 PM
Ronald,

Welcome to POG. I would think that the Thousand Trails pass is a good deal IF you like their RV parks. I have only seen one "discount RV park" in Hershey, PA. We drove to it by mistake, and when we pulled up to the office I realized my error. We had to drive thru the park to turn around and exit the park so we got a good look at it. It looked like every other RV park in the world; nice and clean, pull-thrus, 50 FHU.

I prefer staying in an Outdoor Resorts of American type park, a premium park if you will. I am not trying to be a snob, I just like the flowers, fountains, and manicured lawns in a premium park. So I guess it depends on what kind of park you are looking for. Occasionally, I like to stay in a Lowe's or Walmart parking lot overnight; so I guess it just depends.

I am sure you will save a great deal of money by staying in the Thousand Trails parks, but it's a trade off.

Just my .02

rahangman
11-28-2011, 09:40 PM