PDA

View Full Version : 20000 lb trailer hitch for 1998 Marathon 45' XL

Gopower
10-19-2011, 10:54 AM
seeking a 20000 lb hitch for a '98 45' XL. Also someone to install it in Florida.

I just bought this beauty and also a 30' Featherlite stacker, and will need the big hitch.

I'm david@gopower.com 305 775 8300

Thanks.

Dave.

gmcbuffalo
10-19-2011, 12:00 PM
Dave have you read the lastest post on the this relating to the State laws and liabilities of pull such a monster?

RussWhite
10-19-2011, 12:13 PM
Dave,

Here's a link to one of the recent discussions on your subject.

http://forum.prevostownersgroup.com/showthread.php?5943-Stacker-trailor-insurance&highlight=stacker

Russ

joelselman
10-19-2011, 12:28 PM
I understand everybody's concerns over the legalities, etc, and you guys are probably quite correct BUT...you've got to break an egg to make an omelette! I've got about 300,000 miles over length and have had 1 ticket (California). I've been towing my stacker for about 2 years and 50,000 miles (70,000#, 74.5') with no tickets. There are obvious drawbacks relative to weight, height, suitable rv parks, etc.; but if you actually have use for one within your lifestyle, they can be useful.

Jon Wehrenberg
10-19-2011, 01:32 PM
This is the pilot in me speaking. Limits are established for numerous reasons, most of the time related to safety. In a plane there are limits on weight and balance, air speeds for all sorts of conditions and configurations, temperatures of the cyinder heads or oil, and just about anything else you can think of.