PDA

View Full Version : Commercial Drivers License (CDL)

Denny
01-18-2011, 07:18 PM
I live in Ohio and all we need to operate an RV is a regular drivers license. Since that was the law, I never felt it necessary to get any other type of license. Recently I purchased a 1958 B Model Mack dump truck and sold my smaller one. I use this truck and trailer to haul my tractor, skid steer and mini excavator to help out family and friends with volunteer labor.

My other dump and trailer had a lower GCVW so I did not need a CDL. With this one being larger, I needed to get my CDL. I enrolled at a local truck driving school for a 40 hour CDL course and passed so now I am an official truck driver! Well, after 40 hours of training, which includes all of the maneuvers and road time in a 70 ft. tractor and trailer, I found out how much I did not know. I would strongly urge anyone driving a bus to get some professional training and at least a passenger bus CDL even if their state does not require it. I have always been fascinated with trucks so I decided to get the Class A in a tractor trailer rig rather than a dump truck and trailer. I now have a new found respect for a truck driver's abilities. I think many of them forget what they learned in training but they have to be able to handle that rig to pass the many parts of the test.

Prior to starting school, I had to pass three tests to get my learner's permit. This included a basic knowledge test, air brake test and a combination test. I wanted to get a Class A license for my truck and trailer so that is why I took the combination test. If I wanted a bus CDL, I would have taken the basic, air brakes and passenger bus tests. I also had to have a DOT physical prior to the start of drivers training.