PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Economy ?

LNDYCHT
12-16-2010, 08:44 PM
New to the group, thought I would share a theory.

My coach has a 475 8V92 with a wrapped exhaust system. It surprises me that more coaches do not have insulated exhaust. A wrapped exhaust has many advantages, one of which should be improved fuel economy. A hot exhaust manifold increases the velocity in the manifold scavenging the cylinders of exhaust gases more effectively. The increased velocity should result in higher turbo boost at any given engine speed. The exhaust heat is concentrated in the pipe reducing the temperature of turbo housing reducing intake temperature and increasing charge density. Engine compartment temperatures are reduced extending the life of surrounding rubber components. Engine noise is reduced, noise is converted to heat and expelled through the tail pipe.

Although I am not an engineer, it makes sense. This should apply to all engines, and may be worth the investment to those who do not have a insulated exhaust system.

Darrell and Linda
12-16-2010, 09:42 PM
It makes total sense. There are quite few, in both the "92" and series 60 that have exhaust blankets but below is a source for the turbo also.

Some my forget about their generators. If I had a blanket on my generator exhaust, my sound proofing in the compartment would be in better shape than what is is today.

see this link: http://www.pittsburghpower.com/product_info.php?products_id=171

Jon Wehrenberg
12-17-2010, 06:19 AM
I wonder if anyone has ever documented the impact of doing this as compared with an uninsulated exhaust.

We often are blessed on this site with opinions, but not often hard facts. As fuel prices go up it would be advantageous to know the things that enable us to stretch fuel dollars. I have recorded every gallon of fuel I ever put into my coaches since we bought our first coach in 1990. I not only record the fuel purchase, but the mileage, location, fuel cost, and if I was towing.