PDA

View Full Version : Stanadyne Fuel Additive

jimshoen
08-30-2010, 01:57 PM
Is anyone have experience with Stanadyne Performance Formula Diesel Fuel Additive?
It was recommended to me by another coach owner?
Thanks

Jon Wehrenberg
08-30-2010, 02:11 PM
I'm a coach owner. What if I don't recommend it, Jim?

What is it, what does it do, and how are the claims supported? Finally, what does Detroit Diesel think about it?

JIM KELLER
08-30-2010, 02:44 PM
Jim, I guess you can see you don't have to ask Jon about his opinion on additives ! He and I discussed the topic one time and I gave up. He asked how I knew the product did what it said. I told him " Because the bottle said so. "

Jon Wehrenberg
08-30-2010, 03:07 PM
My reasons for being a skeptic are simple.

Any product that is used for automotive or truck puposes is made to standards. Our engine oil, coolant, fuel, transmission fluid, power steering fluid, etc. The components those products are used in such as the engines or transmissions were built and tested and the engineers specified the use of products that are certified to specific standards. We see the specifications on everything from our engine oil, to coolant, to transmission fluids. The engineers did not specify the products to be used by looking up their names in the phone book, but actually tested the engines, transmissions, etc using products made to those standards.

So when a company comes along and says they have a product that will do this or that I have two things I want to see. First I want to see the standard to which the product is made, tested and certified. I will compare that with what the engineers specify for my bus. Then I want to see evidence the product not only doesn't hurt my bus, but that it actually does what it says it does.