PDA

View Full Version : Fellow owners in KC? Mechanic suggestions?

JohnG
06-19-2010, 07:10 PM
Hi Everyone!

I just bought a '94 Marathon XL. Drove it home to Kansas City from Dallas yesterday. Narrow lanes in construction zones with barriers on each side scary, and so was meeting trucks on a narrow bridge on a detour! Do you get used to the width after a while? Any driving tips?

I'd like to find a good Prevost mechanic in Kansas City, so if there are any Prevost owners in KC, I'd appreciate any advice on mechanics and shops, as well as meet fellow owners.

Thanks,

John Grissinger

Will Garner
06-19-2010, 07:35 PM
John,

First, here is a BIG WELCOME to POG for you. I can't speak to service in the KC area as I hail from NC.

As for the "narrow" roads in construction areas. First word of advice is slow down. Second, as a rookie I was making the mistake of being too far right in the lane. I was continually being told, "Get Left." Not being a liberal that was somewhat irritating. Third, try not to look down at the road immediately in front of the coach. Try to look further down the road, say 1/4 of a mile, it will result in better lane positioning. Biggest probability of incident is "swapping" mirrors with big rigs. If a big rig is approaching you need to ease to the right to give way and save your mirror. Drive very defensively and make certain to keep an abundance of space between you and the vehicle ahead of you. Your coach will need many more times the distance to come to a full stop than what you are accustomed to driving.