PDA

View Full Version : Any Electricians out there?

Richard Barnes
05-22-2010, 12:46 PM
Good morning guys. I woke this morning with an electrical problem of some sort in my coach and not being an electrician I turn to the experts.

I'm connected to 50amp service in an RV park in Long Beach, CA. Last night everything was fine with ac power to both inverters and to the breaker panel. This morning I have only shore power power on the right side of the panel (inverter shows good ac in) and the other inverter shows no ac input and it is in inverting mode to provide power to the left side of the panel. I'm managing power to keep the house batteries at their peak and so far so good with that. I started the generator and both inverters show good ac in and work fine providing power to each side of the panel. Everything works fine with the generator on.

I have a surge protector and the read out shows that everything is fine coming from the 50 amp service. I've checked the connections to both inverters and everything looks okay. I had the shore power connected to the port inlet and decided to move it to the starboard inlet to see if there was any difference. Interestingly, after doing that the inverter that previously showed good ac in on the port side now began to invert and the one that had been inverting now shows good ac in.

There has been no damage to the shore power cord and whatever happened did so in the middle of the night. Guys, any advise will be appreciated.

ajducote
05-22-2010, 12:56 PM
Just a wild guess, but it sounds like a transfer switch problem? Since gen power works on both legs and shore power only works on 1 leg, where does that connection take place? I do not know Liberty systems so I am just making wild speculation. Hopefully the Liberty crowd will chime in soon.

Jon Wehrenberg
05-22-2010, 02:09 PM