PDA

View Full Version : Large toad problems

gmcbuffalo
03-10-2010, 01:09 AM
Those of you that tow large vehicles, have you had any problems with Ball Joints and Steering Gear box or such items? My Excursion's Steering Gear box has gone bad and I am wondering if this is a towing problem or poor quality box.
Greg

Kevin Erion
03-10-2010, 08:45 AM
Greg, I tow a 07 GMC 3/4 ton 4 door pick-up, so far no issues that I am aware of. I think I have towed it about 10,000 miles to date.

kenrobertson
03-10-2010, 11:06 AM
Greg - I have been towing my Tundra for 8 years, and with 160,000 registered miles, and unknown towed miles, it still drives like new. That said, towing a vehicle, large or small, puts the toad thru some very unnatural motions which are potentially hard on suspension and steering parts.

Ken

Sid Tuls
03-10-2010, 11:50 AM
Greg, I have towed my 2007 Tahoe for well over 70,000 miles no problems other than the front end pitted from rocks from the bus. The nice thing about a Tahoe is it hooks up in less than 5 minutes. No pulling fuses nothing.

gmcbuffalo
03-10-2010, 01:49 PM
Thanks guys, Ford Excursion have a wandering problem and I have narrowed mine down to a bad steering gear box. I want to check and see if this could be tow related and not the standard problems I have read about on some Ford forums.
Thanks again
Greg

ajhaig
03-10-2010, 02:43 PM
We towed our 3/4 ton Suburban for about 15,000 miles. We had Road Master tow bars and the M&G brake system.

We had to replace our transfer case, the dealer was adamant that the wheels down towing caused the damaged. I think the transfer case failure had nothing at all to do with the towing.

Other than that we didn't have any issues.

Roadpilot
03-10-2010, 06:10 PM