PDA

View Full Version : Generator 1 Second Run Issue

MangoMike
12-28-2009, 07:10 PM
After reading Gordon's woes, I've seen to develop my own. Before I place the call the Kohler thought I would try the brain trust.

2000 Marathon H3, Kohler 20kw, Yanmar Engine.

Oil and coolant levels right on.

Starts and runs for 1/2 to 1 second like a champ. Then immediately dies. Absolutely not a fuel starvation issue as I've had plenty of experience with that.

It will run perfectly if I keep the GEN START button on the dash pushed in. Finger off and it stops immediately. And no, the starter is not grinding away during this process.

With some help from Trukman I unabled the Auto Start to remove that from the formula.

Where is a good point to start looking?

Thanks for any advice.

Mike

GDeen
12-28-2009, 07:17 PM
Wow - you must have ESPN or something Mike. I just posted the favorable outcome of a trip to a Kohler service center while you were posting this.

Mine was a governor or speed control setting problem. I could see that also being a potential issue with your symptoms. If after starting, the speed control takes over and is not sending the proper fuel mix it could kill the engine immediately. Mine was sending too much fuel apparently. Pure backside extraction but could be plausible.:confused:

MangoMike
12-28-2009, 07:20 PM
Gordon,

The more you learn the less you know. Thanks for another check point.

m

Danss
12-28-2009, 07:36 PM
I had same problem with Power tech generator and it was the solenoid failing. It was the one on the Generator that activated when you shut generator down with the switch on the dash. Very inexpensive part. dan

Alek&Lucia
12-28-2009, 07:45 PM
Dan,

Can you give us the part #, and where you got the replacement,

Alek

Danss
12-29-2009, 07:48 AM
It was put in by Parliment and I assume they got at local Auto parts house but I do not have a clue as to the part number. Sorry. Dan

MangoMike
01-14-2010, 12:39 PM