PDA

View Full Version : Hazardous Waste

redliteal
08-28-2009, 01:12 PM
I am quite new to the POG group and apologize if this question has been asked before or if it somewhat naive. In my youth when I worked at a gas station I changed oil, filters, coolant, transmission etc. The waste was collected initially in a collection sump and then transferred to a collection waste company (ie. the tank/sump was pumped out).

For those of you who maintain your coach and undertake regular fluid changes, how do you get rid of your waste? Do you temprarily store on site or do you haul it away to a recylcer?

Thanks in advance for your response.:)

redliteal
08-28-2009, 01:16 PM
Sorry I should have used spell check.

JIM CHALOUPKA
08-28-2009, 02:04 PM
Welcome to the group Red, three free ways that I know of are;

take it to a government recycling center. In my state it is a county facility and free.

take it to an auto parts store. In my area Autozone provides the service free.

if you have a friend that uses a waste oil furnace, he will embrace you for the oil. Strangers are reluctant to take the oil as they don't trust that you are giving pure oil waste (some people have been known to mix in solvents used for cleaning and they are considered hazardous waste in the US)

There is a fourth way and that is as you suggest, to have a commercial recycler haul it away at a cost to you.

Hope this helps.

Fill in your signature and tell us a little about your bus .........

PM Dalej with your data and he will put you on his map under quick links, oh yea be sure to give him your credit card numbers, he is retired now.

JIM
:)

JIM CHALOUPKA
08-28-2009, 02:07 PM
Spelling doesn't matter anymore, Lew is gone. Better watch the grammar though, or Dale will get you! ;):D

JIM

Kenneth Brewer
08-28-2009, 02:31 PM
Piggybacking on Jim's reply: