PDA

View Full Version : Surge protector

lonesome george
04-09-2009, 05:13 PM
We need to purcahse a new surge protector and I'm thinking about the Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, has anyone used this unit? Is it a good one? Or suggestions on some other type.

nrhareiner
04-09-2009, 05:30 PM
I have used the unit without any problems. However, recently there have been some posts withy people having repeated problems and failures. In fact, my original one committed suicide when a 65,000 volt line was hit by a truck and fell against a 12,000 volt line. That line supplied all of the 50 amp plugs at the OKC fairgrounds. Many coaches at multiple thousands of dollars worth of damage. In mine all I had to do was replace the surge protector.

dale farley
04-09-2009, 08:48 PM
George, I too, have heard others complain about the units, but I've been using one for over 2 years on two different buses with no problems. If mine quit today, I would buy another.

If you buy one, make sure you shop around. There are varied prices on them. This is where I bought mine, but you may find a better price. At the time, they were the cheapest. They are now $348. http://www.tweetys.com/search.aspx?manufacturer=37 After doing a quick search, this still looks like the best price.

lewpopp
04-09-2009, 09:31 PM
FWIW, I was told as I was looking for a surge protector to forget about the Hughes systems because they use the title of surge protector but are not true surge protectors.

This electrical engineer suggested the Progressive uit and we've been happy ever since. Just what I was told and I trust this guy.

Jon Wehrenberg
04-10-2009, 08:06 AM
This is what I use.

http://www.rvupgradestore.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=136

I don't feel as confident as others giving a glowing endorsement because I don't think any of us knows if these work or not until there is a spike. And if there is a surge, and it protected the coach how would we know?