PDA

View Full Version : Entertainer vs. Motorhome

Jon Wehrenberg
03-02-2009, 08:30 AM
Ken,

I don't know if you have become a student of buses, but typically a motorhome conversion can be identified because it will have awnings, a more elaborate paint design, and if a 45 footer it will have some extra overhang behind the tag axle.

An entertainer coach is often a solid color, possibly with a small design, usually has no awnings, and the overhang behind the tag is usually limited to the width of the radiator door.

There are other clues if you can get close enough, such as a wall behind the driver, four roof airs and often five, and the name of the owner and ICC number somewhere on the bottom of one of the bay doors. Most are leased so whoever is leasing it is identified.

Jim Skiff
03-02-2009, 10:45 AM
New thread to discuss topic.

GDeen
03-02-2009, 10:59 AM
Interesting point as I have looked at a number of pics online of entertainers - Staley Coach, etc. Obviously I am a newbie and have little experience, but my concerns about the entertainers would be:

abuse
smoke residue
other kinds of residue :eek:
poor construction (offbrand convertors)
high mileage
"industrial grade" materials rather than "homey" materials

Are these legitimate concerns??

JIM CHALOUPKA
03-02-2009, 11:38 AM
Gordon, all your concerns are possibilities, but not the rule.

Inspect and accept or reject.

Generally they are more utilitarian than luxurious, but they too are all different.
Good luck on your hunt.

If you have a vision, make a plan and stick to it. The right bus will come along, and you will know it when it does.
Just stay away from the likes of Katz and you'll be alright. ;)

JIM

jelmore
03-02-2009, 12:49 PM