PDA

View Full Version : High Idle RPM

JIM CHALOUPKA
02-08-2009, 02:11 PM
I could use some values of RPM for regular idle speed, and high.

These would be for series 6o model, DDEV III, and DDEC IV.

I am trying to compare the two and see if they have different values.

Just as I was receiving my bus the DDEC III went bad and was replaced (upgraded to a IV). I have no experience of values to determine if my regular rpms of 700 and high of 800 are correct. I have a feeling 800 is not correct.

The tech who did the changeout was employed by Stuart Stevenson and performed the work at Mr. Olivers shop (this may have been a side job) could not adjust the high idle any higher than 800 rpm and just shrugged it off with an oh well they don't want you to idle much anyway.

I stopped into a Freightliner service shop without the bus just to see if they thought they could adjust it up. The answer was yes. Bring it in. I said how high should it be? They said around 1500 rpm. I think that sounds too high, so now I am seeking advice here.

Joe Cannarozzi
02-08-2009, 02:25 PM
950 or 1000 on the high side IMO

Your 700 idle speed seems high by 100, IMO

lonesome george
02-08-2009, 02:30 PM
Jim,
Ours is a 98 chassis and it goes to about 1000.

BTW I like the spooky looking babe.

dale farley
02-08-2009, 04:06 PM
Jim, Mine is 700 and 1000. Fifteen is too high.

Jon Wehrenberg
02-08-2009, 04:26 PM
Ditto on the advice of the others. mine is about 650 and about 975 to 1000.

Kevin Erion
02-08-2009, 06:10 PM
Jim, why the DDEC 4 instead of 3? I think a 3 gets better MPG and might have some other advantages, but I am not 100% on the other advantages.

JIM CHALOUPKA
02-08-2009, 09:14 PM
Thanks all for the come back. I too would like the 1000ish. I think I'll stay away from that particular Freightliner shop though.