PDA

View Full Version : Generator Voltage

truk4u
01-19-2009, 09:17 AM
I didn't get any comments on this, so I'll try again..

When running on gen, if the loads get real high on one leg and voltage starts down into the teens, the other leg voltage climbs to about 130 volt. The Liberty does this and also my CC did. I talked to Powertech about this and they said that is normal. Just curious why this happens and if anyone else has the same thing happening.

Jon Wehrenberg
01-19-2009, 09:48 AM
Tom,

I have zero knowledge about our generators so consider this nothing more than speculation.

Our generators appear to respond to loading. In other words the motor produces power proportional to the load. When no load is on the generator is is using only enough horsepower to maintain a given RPM. As the loads increase its fuel flow and horspower produced increases proportional to the demand.

It is generating power on two legs. If one is heavily loaded, the generator is responding by producing power to meet that demand, but since the other leg is lightly loaded excess power is available on the unused or lightly used leg.

My guess would be if you could load your batteries in a split system so one set is loaded and the other is not, you would see the same thing.

My single alternator charges house and chassis batteries. If we want to play when we get together at PSL I'll bet we find the voltage on the house side which I can easily load is lower than the chassis side. May not be a very good analogy, but i'll bet the results are the same.

Shouldn't you be worrying about your dipstick so you can explain to me how you can maintain a hermetically sealed refrigeration system? You dipstick.

Kenneth Brewer
01-19-2009, 01:08 PM