PDA

View Full Version : Transmission Shift problem

aggies09
11-23-2008, 02:54 PM
I had some warranty items taken care of at Prevost Ft. Worth this past week and commenced to driving the 185 miles home. Everything was working flawlessly until I slowed down to take the loop around Abilene towards home. At this point the transmission (world) would not shift beyond 4th gear. I limped on home from that point. First thought was transmission fluid. Full.......After sitting for about an hour and cooling down, I jumped back in and drove down the road and it operated perfectly.

Any thoughts as to what may have caused this and what I should do about it?

Jon Wehrenberg
11-23-2008, 03:04 PM
I'm no transmission expert, but I do know that an Allison dealer can connect your tranmission via the internet to a computer that can give you a report. It has enough detail to even show the amount of wear on the clutches.

garyde
11-23-2008, 09:47 PM
Hi Tony. Did you look at the oil to see if there was coolant contamination. If you have a Allison directory, you can also check the codes. Try Allisons website also for trouble shooting tips. http://www.allisontransmission.com/

hhoppe
11-23-2008, 10:14 PM
Tony: I had that happen to my Royale. It was the shifter keyboard. The brains are under the shifter buttons. Mine got wet and required a rebuild on the unit. I was lucky to find a repair shop and did not have to buy a new one $$$$$. Some times while gearing down you hit the wrong button, like neutral or reverse. It fakes out the computer and it needs a time out to get back on track. Also do not spray water through the window crack onto the shifter keyboard. Now mine gets a towel over it when I'm washing the bus.

merle&louise
11-24-2008, 08:01 AM
Tony,