PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Additives

Sid Tuls
10-19-2008, 09:11 PM
I would like to know if any of you are adding any additive to your deisel when fueling up?? I'm on my way thru Tulsa,OK and fueling up @ Love's and a trucker highly advised that I use it every other fill up. Sure would like your input!!

dalej
10-19-2008, 09:57 PM
I have been using this product for the past 9 years in our bus. http://www.fppf.com/agrifueltreat.asp I use Fuel Power in all my gas engines.

tdelorme
10-19-2008, 10:24 PM
Sid, you have just opened a can of worms. The answers will usually run about 50/50 for and against.

What does Detroit Diesel say about additives?

Before Ultra Low Sulphur Diesel came along I never added anything to my fuel. For the last year or so, I have started putting about 50 gallons of high sulphur off road diesel in the tank every other time I fill up. If I did not have access to off road diesel, I would use something like Dale recommended.

Joe Cannarozzi
10-19-2008, 11:07 PM
Ted is that the RED fuel You are using? A friend that works at Amoco in Whiting tells me that the only difference between the on and off road is the dye so they can make sure truckers do not use the lesser taxed fuels that are for the farmers.

In short it is ALL ultra low sulfur now.

This is second hand info Maybe someone could verify what I have been told.

Sid if I were not in a Northern climate the ONLY time I would bother would be to add a Gal of lucas, or any type treatment to a full tank when I changed oil and would not use it any more frequently

Ted is correct the suggestions and habits will cover the gamut.

If very very cold for a prolonged period of time I will blend #1 with #2 diesel, at least 10% kero and up to 50% kero depending on extremes.

I use kero instead of additives cause at least you can get some MPG for your money that way.

tdelorme
10-20-2008, 06:17 AM