PDA

View Full Version : OTR Bus Air

phorner
10-14-2008, 04:19 PM
After spending a week in Charleston, SC and headed south toward the Mobile Oyster Fest, we're cruising nicely along I-95 when I decide to switch on the bus air.

Everything appeared to be fine, cold air, etc. when the "AC HI Pressure" warning light came on. This happened 5 to 10 minutes after turning it on.

We've been using the bus air without a problem all along the last 6,000 miles or so, and as recently as a week ago.

Shut off the AC for the remainder of the day until we got to our next stop where I turned it back on to see if the problem would duplicate itself. Ran the bus AC for about 10 minutes while we were waiting and the warning didn't re-appear. May not have been running long enough to duplicate conditions?

Anyway, is there something that I should be checking to determine if there is, in fact a problem? Assuming there is, is this a major project to get into?

I have zero experience with this....

Jon Wehrenberg
10-14-2008, 04:31 PM
If I were to guess Paul I would say the first place to look for a problem is to see if the condenser fan is working.

Run the bus on fast idle, set the switch to AC and go out to see if the blower in the condenser bay is functioning.

If it is not locate the circuit breaker for the condenser fan and see if it has tripped. Reset it if it has. I verify the CB has tripped with a multi-meter because visually you cannot tell if the breaker has tripped, and there are at least two.

I have seen the circuit breakers for the big OTR fans in the following places so I won't presume to guess where yours is located:

87 Liberty.........top of first bay, driver's side.
92 Angola.........top of third bay, driver's side
97 Liberty.........rear wall, passenger side, condenser bay

That is a common problem and if it persists the CB may have just gotten lazy and needs to be replaced.

Jon Wehrenberg
10-14-2008, 04:33 PM