PDA

View Full Version : Fuel Economy w/ toad?

adamdegraff
05-27-2008, 10:17 AM
Still debating whether or not to tow a car on our tour. Never in the same place for more than 2 days, so not sure it is worth it. Was thinking of towing a Honda CR-V, AWD, 5 Speed manual transmission. Assuming that I am a conservative driver and keep to the speed limit, or a little under, what do you think the difference in my fuel economy would be if I did tow a car such as the Honda? Depending on terrane I tend to get 7 to 7.2 mpg. Total mileage for the tour is about 40,000 give or take. Worth it? Or should I just rent a car when I need one.

Thanks for any advice.

~Adam

Jerry Winchester
05-27-2008, 10:56 AM
Adam,

I have to think being on "tour" will require being parked in some interesting places, most of which will require backing up. About the second time you have to have a fire drill with someone jumping out of the coach to unhook the toad so you can back in the alloted space, you will wish you didn't have the toad with you.

adamdegraff
05-27-2008, 11:14 AM
Adam,

I have to think being on "tour" will require being parked in some interesting places, most of which will require backing up. About the second time you have to have a fire drill with someone jumping out of the coach to unhook the toad so you can back in the alloted space, you will wish you didn't have the toad with you.

Jerry, I was thinking about this too. No single item has caused me more grief than whether or not to tow a car. Most of of doesn't want to. Part of me... the part that wants to get out for an hour here or there to explore, wants to bring a car. Maybe I should bring some bikes instead.

Thanks for your input.

Adam

Orren Zook
05-27-2008, 12:01 PM