PDA

View Full Version : Mountain passes

bwalz
04-26-2008, 07:49 PM
I'm sure this has been asked before but here we go again! We have a Series 60 and are about to embark "over the hump." Previously in a 40' Prevost I overheated and was told at the time my RPM's were too low.
When consulting a friend wih a 45' Series 60 he suggested gearing to run at 2000 RPM's to avoid problems.
Any experienced high altitude guru's out there??

MangoMike
04-26-2008, 08:06 PM
I'll be interested to see what the pros post. But my last trip out west I kept it at 15-1600 and watched the temps w/ no problem. 2000 seems high to me.

I was more worried about the down side.

Mike

bwalz
04-26-2008, 08:08 PM
2000 seemed high to me also. I've always thought 1800 to be the top side of safe.

Petervs
04-26-2008, 09:19 PM
Well, I do not know if I am a pro or not, but I have 50,000 miles on my series 60 driving all over. We live in the west, and most trips involve going over a pass here or there.

Many interstate passes are 6% grades and some climb to 6000 feet or more. We have been to 10,000 feet. Many of the smaller highways also have good climbs, usually with more twisty parts and not so much a steady long even pull.

In any case, I drive up the hills with the transmission in Drive and the pedal to the metal. The two speed fan keeps the coolant temp in line without any problem, even on hot days. The DDEC keeps anything harmful from happening. The RPM falls where it will. Peak torque is around 1500 rpm, so that is the most powerful way to climb the hill.

Going down, I choose the gear that when the Jake Brake is on keeps the speed around 55 or so.

My technique would be different if I had an 8V92.

Basicall with the Series 60, "Don't worry, be happy!"

garyde
04-26-2008, 10:14 PM
I either chang to 'economy mode' on the transmission or shift down a gear when my speed drops below 50. The RPM's go up at that point and max's out at about 2000. I have not had any major temp. rise in either case.