PDA

View Full Version : Input on this coach

aggies09
03-22-2008, 12:32 PM
The following is a coach that my wife and I keep going back to. Being a newbie, I would like some input. Let me what you think of this bus and why? Thanks for all the help.

http://www.genexusa.com/prevost.html

dalej
03-22-2008, 01:10 PM
Tony,

It is very hard to look at the photos and tell you what we think. It looks like a well kept coach. You have to look at some coachs in that era and make the call. I seen a 91 or 92 country coach at Desert West (on prevost-stuff sponsors) That Lloyd was looking at and it was a nice coach for that year. I think it was around $139,000

Maybe someone in south Texas could look at it with you. Keep in mind if the price is right, you won't mind fixing things on it. Just make sure the motor and transmission are strong. If you can get the service data on those items you could post them.

Just to let you know, I bought the second coach I looked at, still own it.

Darl-Wilson
03-22-2008, 01:25 PM
First, welcome to the group Tony!
This looks like an extraordinary coach, well kept, low mileage, and loaded with equipment. I only have two comments; do you really want a 40' rig and is it priced right. When I bought our coach I had lots of input from friends and relatives that owned these vehicles. Almost all encouraged us to buy a 45' model and something 1996 or newer because of the Prevost engine changes after that date. I am really glad we made the decision to purchase one with the extra 5'. For you I think it might be even more important with the space needed for a young family. Pulling a long trailer or vehicle could make a 40' the only vehicle that would comply with some state's length laws but other than that I think the 45' is better. The series 60 engine could be another reason to buy a newer coach. Fuel economy is a big issue right now and regardless of the diesel price in relation to the overall operating cost it will have an impact on resale value.