PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here

GDeen
08-06-2007, 12:14 PM
Howdy POG members. Just joined the group this past weekend. Already have extracted some great info - thanks.

My outdoor experience includes close to 200 nights in a tent from south Texas to Northern Manitoba - mountain backpacking treks, canoe portage treks, float trips and everything in between. My wife and I have always wanted a motorhome to tour the country. Last summer we leased a Monaco Diplomat from an individual for a couple of weeks and had a ball on a trip to the desert southwest.

We live in central Texas. Been married 25 years with 4 kids - 21,19,17 and 11 Have an Electra Glide and have toured the mountain states with it, although we haven't been riding as much lately. Hobbies also include cooking, hunting, fishing and photography.

I am an engineer by training and tend to study purchases quite a bit. Although we enjoyed the Monaco and it performed well, I was very aware of guiding a fiberglass shell on top of a chassis down the highway complete with rattles and shakes and porpoising, etc. I-40 in a cross wind with semi's blowing by wasn't pleasant. In my review of potential coaches for purchase, I have quickly settled on the monocoque or semi with bus conversions leading the way. We will drive quite a lot so I want a safe, secure road worthy machine that is also good to "camp" in.

Presently I am looking at Prevost conversions and Newells. I am intrigued by the steerable tag on the later Newells for tighter handling. The Prevost speaks for itself.

Anyway, just wanted to stop in and introduce myself.

Edited to say: After further reading I see some "oilies from Oklahoma" in the group. Although in Texas now (22 years) I grew up in Oklahoma, started ruffnecking in Ok, and graduated from Tulsa U, and have been in the "ohl biddness" my whole life so there is another Okie Oily present and accounted for....

dalej
08-06-2007, 02:27 PM